Side Navigation

Acknowledgements, literature and list of scores


I wish to thank Knut Guettler for his significant contribution to this work. The whole section of Definitions is written in close collaboration with Guettler, and he kindly shares his own research on the physics of multiphonics through the article “Bowed-string multiphonics analyzed by use of impulse response and the Poisson summation formula”. The work of Michael Liebman, Mark Dresser and Stefano Scodanibbio has been an invaluable source and inspiration. In addition they have given me feedback and answered my many questions. I have been in contact with almost all composers represented here. Their works are all very important in incorporating double bass multiphonics into the repertoire of contemporary music. Ignas Krunglevicius deserves a special mention for helping me create the web site and to publish my work.


Anderson, Julian: Seductive solitary, article (p.616-619), The Musical Times, December 1992

Bach, Michael: Fingerboards and overtones, Edition Spangenberg, München, 1991

Bartolozzi, Bruno: The new sounds for woodwind, Oxford University Press, 1967

Dresser, Mark: A personal pedagogy, Arcana: musicians on music, John Zorn (ed.), Hips Road and Grananry Books, 2000

Dresser, Mark: Double bass multiphonics, article (Masterclass, p.72-75), The Strad, Vol. 120 No. 1434, October 2009

Guettler, Knut and Thelin, Håkon: Bowed-string multiphonics analyzed by use of impulse response and the Poisson summation formula, article accepted for publication (2011) in Journal of Acoustical Society of America

Liebman, Michael: Multiphonics: new sounds for double bass, unpublished article, 2001

Liebman, Michael: Movement of repose, New sounds for cello and double bass, Kompozitor Publishing, 2010

Robert, Jean-Pierre: Modes of playing the doublebass, Editions Musica Guild, 1995

Turetzky, Bertram: The Contemporary Contrabass, rev. version, University of California Press, Berkely and Los Angeles, California, 1989

List of scores

Philippe Boivin: Cinque Algorithmes pour contrebasse seule, 1990, Editions Salabert

Eivind Buene: Bass duo from Into the Void, 2008, Norwegian Music Information Centre

Lars-Petter Hagen: Hymn, 2008, Norwegian Music Information Centre

Kimmo Hakola: Thrust, 1989, Fazer Music Inc., Finland

Michael Liebman: Sonata for double-bass, 2001, manuscript from composer

Carlos Mastropietro: En una cara, 1996, manuscript from composer

Helmut Oehring: Foxfire Zwei, version for solo double bass by Håkon Thelin, 1993/2007, manuscript from composer

Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje: On Wombs and Vowels, 2003, Norwegian Music Information Centre

Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje: Rondo-Bastard-Overture-Explosion, 2004, Norwegian Music Information Centre

Kaija Saariaho: Ciel étoilé, 1999, Chester Music

Stefano Scodanibbio: e/statico, 1980, manuscript from composer

Stefano Scodanibbio: Sei studi, 1981/1983, manuscript from composer

Håkon Thelin: Glasperlenspiel, 2010, manuscript from composer

Håkon Thelin: Light, 2008, manuscript from composer

Håkon Thelin: oibbinadocS, 2004, manuscript from composer

Håkon Thelin: Shared moments, 2009, manuscript from composer

Håkon Thelin: Kárma, 2010, manuscript from composer

Øyvind Torvund: Giants of Jazz, 1999-2001, Norwegian Music Information Centre